Transfer App Settings

Kiosk Pro can share app settings between different versions and devices. This can make it easier to set up a handful of devices or upgrade from Lite without the need to manually configure each app.

Note: If transferring from Basic, Plus or Enterprise, we recommend turning on Remote Settings Control and configuring a Settings XML File Location prior to sharing the settings.

If there's a Passcode set, make sure you know what it is. Alternately, you could delete the passcode before sharing the settings.

The shared .xml file will not include the following settings:

  • Refresh Homepage (in Lite only)
  • SMTP password (for security)
  • Unique iPad ID (to prevent accidentally overwriting)
  • Kiosk Name (to prevent accidentally overwriting)
  • Unit Name (to prevent accidentally overwriting)


To transfer app settings on the same device:

  1. Open the Kiosk Pro settings on the iPad that is correctly configured.
    • In Lite: Scroll down to the Upgrade category and select Transfer Settings to Different Version.
    • In Basic, Plus or Enterprise: Scroll down to the Remote Management & Notifications category and select Remote Settings Control > Transfer Settings.
  2. Select "Transfer Current Settings" in the bottom left corner.
  3. Choose the app to share the file with.

The selected app will be opened and the setting configuration will be saved in the app's documents folder as "settings.xml".


To transfer app settings to a different device using AirDrop:

  1. Open the Kiosk Pro settings on the iPad that is correctly configured.
    • In Lite: Scroll down to the Upgrade category and select Transfer Settings to Different Version.
    • In Basic, Plus or Enterprise: Scroll down to the Remote Management & Notifications category and select Remote Settings Control > Transfer Settings.
  2. Select "Transfer Current Settings" in the bottom left corner.
  3. Choose "AirDrop".
  4. Select the device you want to share to.
  5. On the other device, a prompt will appear listing available apps. Select the app you want to share your settings to.

The selected app will be opened and the setting configuration will be saved in the app's documents folder as "settings.xml".


To apply the transferred settings:

  1. Open the Kiosk Pro settings on the iPad that is correctly configured.
  2. Scroll down to the Remote Management & Notifications category and select Remote Settings Control.
  3. Select Transfer Settings.
  4. Select "Apply Transferred Settings" and confirm.

The app will immediately apply the "settings.xml" file and update the app settings.


For versions 9.5.2 or earlier

To share settings:

  1. Open the Kiosk Pro settings on the iPad that is correctly configured.
  2. Scroll down to the Remote Update category and select Remote Settings Control.
  3. Select Share.
  4. Select "Share current settings".
  5. Choose the app to share the file with.

Note: You will need to turn on Remote Settings Control and configure an XML File Location prior to sharing the settings in order to successfully update another app. Also, if there's a Passcode set please make sure you know what it is. Alternately, you could delete the passcode before sharing the settings.

The shared .xml file will not include the SMTP password (for security), the Unique iPad ID, and the Kiosk Name and Unit Name for the Remote Management Server (to prevent accidentally overwriting with the values from the original device).

To apply the shared settings:

  1. Open the Kiosk Pro settings on the iPad that is correctly configured.
  2. Scroll down to the Remote Update category and select Remote Settings Control.
  3. Select Share.
  4. Select "Apply shared settings".

An .xml file will saved in Kiosk Pro's documents folder as "settings.xml" which can be used for a remote update.

Still stuck? How can we help? How can we help?